My first controversy

Well, it looks like I’ve stirred up some shit with my last post. I actually have Georgians reading and commenting on it, which makes me wonder how many of them got there by googling “Sex in Georgia”…

In any case, I first want to say a few words about my comments policy. I currently do not moderate comments, but I expect that anyone who comments makes an effort to be respectful and contribute something to the conversation – in other words, as I read somewhere, “speak when you can embiggen the discourse.”

If you think you might need an explanation of what I mean by “respectful” then do everyone a favor and just don’t comment. Telling me to cut the crap or that a post is “bullshit” is not constructive and it’s certainly not respectful.

What particularly annoys me is that my last post contained two different, contradictory sets of data: one was what the TLG staff told me, and the other was what the Georgians I’ve met in Tbilisi told me. So if you read the post and thought it was bullshit, which part did you think was bullshit?

Also, I devoted an entire paragraph to how things were different in Tbilisi, only to have four of the first five commenters tell me that I was out of my mind and things were totally different in Tbilisi. If you’re going to disagree with something – especially if you’re going to do it in a vehement or condescending way – then actually reading the whole post might save everyone a great deal of time and annoyance.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My first controversy

  1. gijmaj says:

    <<<>>>

    On your dashboard you can see stats and search terms, so check it and let us know results :)))

  2. ---> says:

    Neil,

    Congratulations, you’ve ended up into the middle of a holy war. Well… THE Holy War because the topic (gender relations) probably is the most discussed in the Georgian Internet.

    Keep in mind that opinions are like assholes – everyone has them… including me… (and you too).

    Keep going.

    P.S. After some time you will get used to the local way of discussing, you’ve already experienced it. I’d like to share my own personal observation that Internet gave a lot of people (false) sense of anonymity so they can insult anyone and everyone the way they want and get away with it. And in Georgian Internet (and generally former Eastern Block counties) this type of behavior is quite prevalent. Unfortunately.

  3. nina says:

    First all I’m sorry you are insulted by some comments, but when writing something for people to read on internet where people are able to comment, be prepared to receive any kind of comments, and I’d like to say to Neil that I have found tons of offensive comments(much harsher than these) on blogs all over internet, American, European and all of it. It is not just Georgian nature to be rude and take advantage of that false sense of anonimity you are talking about. Its the person blogging who’s starting up the hot topic and if you are offended by comments, maybe people commenting are offended to because you know generalizations and stereotypes do offend the people they are applied to. That said I do agree with the observations of your post and the information is not far from truth. Georgian men are not the best specimens of their gender, but so are many foreigners that come to our country (I dont mean the author of course not knowing him personally), but some of the foreign visitors just breathe that sense of superiority and being from a developed nation while we here are mere wild aboregenes who need to be converted to the true religion…….that said we are in some cases :) but come on not to that extent and not all of us. So while you guys have some unpleasant experiences with us your hosts here so do we with you, so continue writing your blog and don’t become offended because “bullcrap” and “bullshit” may not be meant to offend you in bad way, It’s not that we’re rude, we’re just very emotional here ( and maybe not having regular sex life adds up to the emotions). :):) hope you have fun here and discover more good stuff than bad.

  4. Shalva says:

    Well, it looks like I’ve stirred up some shit with my last post. I actually have Georgians reading and commenting on it, which makes me wonder how many of them got there by googling “Sex in Georgia”…

    ======================

    You can see it perfectly clear in your WordPress dashboard :) :)

  5. Lado says:

    “Keep in mind that opinions are like assholes – everyone has them… including me… (and you too).”
    Dear Neil, are you teaching our kids language?
    OMG!

Leave a Reply

