New comments policy

As of now, all new comments on this blog will be held in a moderation queue until I have approved them. I know that this is annoying, and I apologize for the inconvenience. In general I have very regular internet access and I will most likely check and approve comments several times a day.

I regret that this has become necessary. It’s the nature of the internet that some people know how to play nice, and others don’t, and every website with more than a handful of visitors eventually has to deal with the ones who don’t.

In the past I have been more than happy to argue with people for hours, but the fact is, when comments go above a certain insult to content ratio, it becomes too much of a pain in the ass for me not to just respond in kind. In the interest of the comments sections not becoming a perpetual shouting match, I’m not going to let that happen.

I’m not trying to censor anyone, and I don’t disallow comments lightly. Every time someone writes something really stupid and awful, I agonize over it, usually for days, trying to figure out if there’s any chance at all that something productive could come out of engaging the person in conversation, rather than just ignoring them. I should probably stop doing this, because I generally end up deciding that it just isn’t worth it.

I am tempted to say more, but I won’t. As I’ve said before, I don’t like wasting time on administrative posts and I’m not trying to make this blog argumentative. I now return you to your regularly scheduled programming.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

