Two Poems

As a follow-up to my last post, I’m reproducing the two poems I read during the fourth stream at Buckswood.

The first was written while I was in high school – I’m thinking I was 17 or 18 when I wrote it. The poem is based on a true story:

“My Eyes Are Not Like Autumn Leaves”

Someone who loved me
Once told me
That my eyes are like autumn leaves

She wanted to keep them
But she couldn’t
My eyes are not like autumn leaves

They are dark brown
Like mahogany
Much darker than autumn leaves

Every year, the cycle of life
And death
Is repeated when the leaves fall

Every year, My eyes see more death
And less life
Not like autumn leaves at all

But I still have some signs of life…
My eyes are not like autumn leaves.

***

The second was written when I was 18 or 19. This is also based on a true story. There used to be a little ceramic angel hanging on the wall above my girlfriend’s bed. I was staying over one night, and while I was fast asleep she got up to close the window and knocked the angel off the wall. The poem is called “An Angel Fell On My Head:”

An angel fell on my head,
Once on a Midsummer’s Night
while I was lying in bed.

A dream was what I said
Waking up in fright
An angel fell on my head

Like a club of bitter dread
Came the ceramic smite
While I was lying in bed.

A devil this creature wed
An earthbound Heavenly wight
An angel fell on my head

Silent fears were fed
Of Godly undelight
while I was lying in bed.

An earthly marking of red
Put stars into my sight.
An angel fell on my head
while I was lying in bed.

***

This style of poem is called a “Villanelle.” It’s another one of my favorite poetic forms (along with the Sestina, of course.) I’ve written a bunch, but this is probably my favorite because I think the content suits the form really well. There are a lot of topics that sound ridiculous in Villanelle form; a topic that’s already a bit farcical just fits right in, I think.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Two Poems

  1. Anonymous says:

    Oh my god πŸ˜€ I remember you reading them as if it happened yesterday!
    Liked them then and I liked them now πŸ™‚

  2. Maia says:

    Oh my god πŸ˜€ I remember you reading them as if it happened yesterday!
    Liked them then and I liked them now πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

