I Sprained my Ankle

Last night I went to a friend’s flatwarming party (remember, flat = apartment). I was dead tired because I foolishly waited until this week to fight off my jetlag, and I didn’t really feel up to doing anything, but Ihe dragged myself out of my house anyway. I ended up having a really good time – we drank, sang, and argued loudly and at length about Roman Polanski, the child rapist and other matters relating to art theory and child rape. Yeah, I’m fun at parties.

Anyway, on my way out I managed to sprain my ankle. Home boy lives in like a fifth floor walk up, and his hall is dark and overly contoured, as halls tend to be in this country, and I just hit something the wrong way. I felt the ankle go, and down I went with it. His hallway was very comfortable but eventually I felt it was time to go home and so I had my friends help me stand up and hobble down the stairs and into a taxi. I spent the cab ride home complaining about the South Carolina debate audience that booed Jesus.

I’ve been taking reasonable care of it – I took ibuprofen, iced it, and wrapped it in an Ace Bandage (which I brought to Georgia when I first came and never travel without) – but today there were some things that just had to be done. First, I had to go to the print shop to print out a release form for a conference I’ve been invited to speak at (which I will reveal more details of as things unfold). Getting there took a lot longer than usual.

When you sprain your ankle, you really start to pay a lot more attention to the topography of the surfaces you are walking on. I had always sort of known that streets and sidewalks in Georgia have a tendency to be rough, uneven, and full of holes, cars, and other obstacles to the orderly progress of pedestrians – that is, if you happen to be in a place lucky enough to have paved streets and sidewalks – but you never really *realize* it until you have to limp gingerly down the street carefully maintaining the angle of your weakened, swollen left ankle. It must really suck to be an old person and have to walk around in this city.

Last year I had a very minor sprain – barely worth mentioning, which is why I don’t think I did at the time – but I was able to walk very easily right away. This one is actually pretty bad. I have my limp down to a fine art, but I have a feeling I won’t be up to running, dancing, or even speedwalking for at least a few weeks.

Anyway. This afternoon I got to be on the orientation panel for group 31 – something I’ve wanted to do for at least a year (be on an orientation panel, not specifically be on group 31’s orientation panel). I was so excited about getting to be on the panel, and I didn’t want to screw it up, so I didn’t do the wise thing and cancel. Being on a panel isn’t particularly strenuous, but it meant I had to be on my feet for a while, and couldn’t really elevate the ankle during the panel, and overall it would just have been better if I had sprained my ankle, like, tonight, instead of last night.

Tomorrow I go back to school. There’s a chance I’ll call out of this one, because of the ankle situation, and give myself tomorrow and the whole weekend to stay off my feet as much as possible. I’ve been told that the de facto first day of school is actually Monday anyway, because nobody wants to come back from vacation for one day and then have two more days off.

Anyway, despite this minor setback things are really going quite well for me. I’ll be glad once everything gets back to normal – once I have a set routine of what to do and when, and a more normal sleeping schedule – and I’ll be glad once my ankle stops hurting – but I’m glad now because I know that my near future is going to be better than the present, which is basically what always motivates me.

By the way, I now have a “Contact Me” page where you can fill out a form that will email me. I didn’t know you could do this, but it’s a great alternative to posting your email on the internet (spambait). So anyway, if you want to get in touch with me, now you can!

This entry was posted in Administrative, Adventures in Adventures in Georgia, Adventures in Drinking in Georgia, Health and Sickness in Georgia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Sprained my Ankle

  1. pasumonok says:

    this is what happens when u spend a whole evening cursing great film director :-)))

    • panoptical says:

      He who passively accepts evil is as much involved in it as he who helps to perpetrate it. He who accepts evil without protesting against it is really cooperating with it.
      – Martin Luther King, Jr.

      πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Group 31 « αƒ‘αƒαƒ§αƒαƒ§αƒ˜ αƒ¬αƒ§αƒαƒšαƒ¨αƒ˜ αƒ§αƒ˜αƒ§αƒ˜αƒœαƒ”αƒ‘αƒ‘

Leave a Reply

