A Shakespearean Election

Friends, Georgians, countrymen, lend me your ears;
I come to bury Misha, not to praise him.
The evil that men do lives after them;
The good is oft interred with their bones;
So let it be with Misha. The noble Bidzina
Hath told you Misha was ambitious:
If it were so, it was a grievous fault,
And grievously hath Misha answer’d it.
Here, under leave of Bidzina and the restβ€”
For Bidzina is an honourable man;
So are they all, all honourable menβ€”
Come I to speak in Misha’s funeral.
He was my friend, faithful and just to me:
But Bidzina says he was ambitious;
And Bidzina is an honourable man.
He hath brought many investors home to Tiflis
Whose ransoms did the general coffers fill:
Did this in Misha seem ambitious?
When that the poor have cried, Misha hath wept:
Ambition should be made of sterner stuff:
Yet Bidzina says he was ambitious;
And Bidzina is an honourable man.
You all did see that on Election Day
I thrice presented him a false result,
Which he did thrice refuse: was this ambition?
Yet Bidzina says he was ambitious;
And, sure, he is an honourable man.
I speak not to disprove what Bidzina spoke,
But here I am to speak what I do know.
You all did love him once, not without cause:
What cause withholds you then, to mourn for him?
O judgment! thou art fled to brutish beasts,
And men have lost their reason. Bear with me;
My heart is in the coffin there with Misha,
And I must pause till it come back to me.

Read the whole scene – or the whole play. There are some interesting parallels but of course like any analogy there are limits. (And yes, I am aware that Bidzina doesn’t scan in place of Brutus, but given how people in this country pronounce “Prospero” I’m guessing I won’t catch too much flack for taking liberties with poetic meter.) Anyway, this is mostly just for fun so don’t read too much into it. I’m sure Misha’s detractors would rather compare him to Richard II or something.

The real takeaway here is that Shakespeare is awesome.

This entry was posted in Awesome, Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Shakespearean Election

  1. Victor Oniani says:

    πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

